It’s the end of the semester and the end of my time at EC. Being accepted into the journalism program over a year ago, I had only one thing on my mind; graduating with a journalism certificate and I did it.

I was determined to achieve this goal in less time than others might have done in the past by quitting my corporate job, which I worked so hard to get after graduating college in 2005, and instead, fill my schedule with classes.

I started out as a staff writer for the newspaper and magazine and then quickly became a newspaper page editor and took it one step further when I was chosen as the editor-in-chief of the magazine this past semester. While I never thought I would find myself in any of these positions a year ago, I worked very hard to get where I am ending today. I put a lot of time into studying and taking on projects to help me learn as much as possible. There were times when I was overwhelmed and other instances when I wanted to drop all my classes and become a beach bum, but perseverance kept me focused and on track to eventually reach my goal. And in return, I got everything out of the journalism program that an incoming student can.

Now I find myself facing reality once again as I am back in the real world looking for what I had before I attended EC–a job. But this time around I carry with me a different knowledge and even greater experiences to take me a step further in my career. I graduate with confidence and the drive to do something great with my life because I know how far I have come.

While I will miss everyone I came into contact with on campus, I am excited to take all my learned knowledge to the next level. But no matter where I end up, I only have EC to thank for this amazing college experience.

To all who are returning students this summer semester, good luck and give it all you can because your future is in the making.

Congratulations class on 2012.

20120604-154857.jpg